Boreham Wood Duo are Pitch Perfect! Groundsman of the Year Revealed

By Oliver Osborn

The FA Groundsman of the Year Awards 2019 were held at St George’s Park and five National League Clubs were honoured for their efforts.

Boreham Wood’s Declan Robinson and Daniel Hunter were the overall winners after keeping the Meadow Park surface in excellent condition.

After winning the award, the Club said: “The dedication, skill and application shown by these two very committed grass and soil technicians come rain, wind or shine, has meant our incredible pitch is prepared to an incredibly high standard.

“After the decision was made to restructure our pitch four seasons ago and after improved investment was put in over the last three years, our hard working lads have finally been rewarded”.

Other award winners included Liam Reynolds from Chesterfield and Rob Brooks of Alfreton Town, who finished second and third respectively.

Elsewhere, Woking’s Colin Galliford and Adie Ganderton of Kidderminster Harriers were highly commended at the awards.

Where next?

Amaze-Lynn! But We've Got More To Give Says Boss Ian They're third in the National League North after five games but King's Lynn boss Ian Culverhouse say they have even more in the tank.
Club Licences Granted for National League Football Academy The National League have granted 22 Clubs an Academy Licence for the inaugural National League Football Academy season.

Match centre

Vanarama National League North
Vanarama National League South