Meet The National League's Longest Serving Managers!

1 week ago By Tom Scott

Take one look at the newspapers or online and it’s a constant rumour mill full of experts predicting who will be the next manager to get the axe.

But amongst the seemingly non-stop revolving managerial doors are long-serving managers who have built long-lasting legacies and written themselves into fan folklore.

We looked at the longest running tenures within the National League and found that the ten longest serving managers have served their clubs for a combined period of over 85 years at the helm.

Jason Ainsley takes top spot having been manager at Spennymoor Town for just over 11 years but has also spent most of his life at the club.

He’s been player, captain and assistant at Moors in a spell that dates back to 1989.

This current season will be his twelfth in charge having won five titles and an FA Vase in 2013.

In 2008, Paul Doswell joined Sutton United and is now the third longest serving manager in the National League.

Lee Bradbury is taking his Havant and Waterlooville side on another big journey this season as they compete in the top level of non-league for the first time.

He’s spent just short of six years in the Westleigh Park hotseat.

National League Longest Serving Managers

Jason Ainsley – Spennymoor Town (4151 days)
John Coventry – East Thurrock United (3998 days)
Paul Doswell – Sutton United (3724 days)
Gavin Rose – Dulwich Hamlet (3420 days)
Simon Weaver – Harrogate Town (3401 days)
Paul Holleran – Leamington (3225 days)
John Flanagan - Curzon Ashton (2721 days)
Dave Challinor – AFC Fylde (2505 days)
Dean Brennan – Hemel Hempstead (2324 days)
Lee Bradbury – Havant & Waterlooville (2163 days)

Where next?

Manny May Miss Ten Weeks As Wrexham Count The Cost Wrexham manager Sam Ricketts has announced that defender Manny Smith is set to sit out the next two months.
Chester and United Looking To Make Up For Lost Time Later Chester and FC United of Manchester have the chance to make up for some lost time tonight and climb the National League North in the process.

Match centre

Vanarama National League North
Vanarama National League South

Latest photos